Why was it not a par?

Like many other golfers, I enjoy getting out for a quick 9 holes on my own every now and then. That way, within the space of a hour or perhaps a little longer, I can practise a variety of shots in their proper context and work on my course management. Recently I had been thinking about ways of bringing a greater improvement focus to these sessions, so today I implemented my new WWINAP method, otherwise known as Why Was It Not A Par?

WWINAP

Why was it not a par?

The idea behind this rather admittedly cumbersome acronym is to record the detail of the holes played in such a way as to enable identification of the reason a regulation score wasn’t achieved. Assuming, of course, that it wasn’t – a pretty safe assumption in  most instances, it has to be said.

Today’s WWINAP session got off to a delayed start due to the rain that decided to fall as soon as I arrived at the clubhouse, causing me to hit a bucket of balls as I waited for it to clear. Once it did, it was off to test the new formula, and luckily my level of play was such that I only managed to par one hole. Just as well, otherwise there wouldn’t have been much to work on!

So what did I learn from the other 8 holes? Well, on two of them I came down a bit heavy on my tee shots with 3 and 5 woods, so losing about 30 yards of distance. On two holes my chipping was too long, and on another two my second shots to the green on par 4s were a bit off target, one to the left and one to the right. The remaining two holes, other than the par, weren’t compromised by any real errors on my part, but were simply unlucky not to be regulation scores.

All of which might suggest that, other than my putting, which isn’t implicated above, my entire game needs working on. Which may indeed be true, but I still cling to the idea that it is useful to do an analysis of this sort in order to provide a focus for off course practice. Talking of which, it looks like I had  better get down the range tomorrow ……… I have a few things I need to be working on.

Leave a Reply

